IDEAL member Meghana Deodhar is runner-up for Best Student Paper at ICML09. "A Scalable Framework for Discovering Coherent Co-clusters in Noisy Data" by Meghana Deodhar, Joydeep Ghosh, Gunjan Gupta, Hyuk Cho and Inderjit Dhillon

IDEAL member Alex Liu wins the Best Student Paper Award at DMIN07. "Generative Oversampling for Mining Imbalanced Datasets" by Alex Liu, Joydeep Ghosh, and Cheryl Martin.

IDEAL alumni Srujana Merugu wins the Best Research Paper Award at KDD07. Deepak Agarwal and Srujana Merugu at Yahoo! Research captured the Best Research Paper Award for their work on "Predictive Discrete Latent Factor Models For Large Scale Dyadic Data." Watch video: Srujana getting her award.

IDEAL alumni Tumer and Agogino win Best Paper Award at AAMAS07. Kagan Tumer and Adrian Agogino received the Best Paper Award at the 2007 International Conference on Autonomous Agents and Multiagent Systems. Dr. Tumer and Agogino, both PhDs from IDEAL, are researching ways to accommodate the anticipated tripling of air traffic over the next decade.

IDEAL members are runner-up for best research paper at Int'l Conf. on Data Mining (ICDM), Dec 2006."Bregman Bubble Clustering: A Robust, Scalable Framework for Locating Multiple, Dense Regions in Data" by Gunjan Gupta and Joydeep Ghosh

Dr. Ghosh and Dr. Dhillon(CS) receive the 2005 Best Research Paper Award from the UT Co-op Society for "Clustering with Bregman Divergence" (joint work with IDEAL students Arindam Banerjee and Srujana Merugu). Award pictures with UT President Faulkner and with President and Deans.